top of page
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube

  Collegio di Maria Museum  

collegio di maria Museum

The Museum of the College of Maria di Piana degli Albanesi is a museum that is open only for private visits and which preserves the most important corpus of sacred vestments of the Byzantine rite, created and jealously guarded over the centuries by the nuns of the College.

These embroideries truly seem inspired by the Divine and feature a highly elaborate and rich embroidery technique, which unfortunately has almost been lost today, thus making this permanent exhibition unique. The Museum also houses an extraordinary collection of 17th-century icons and paintings, including the famous Madonna Hodegetria by Ioannikios Ieromonaco. Visitors can admire a one-of-a-kind collection of Byzantine rite sacred objects, exquisite wax models, exquisite altar frontals, and a collection of embroidery using all the techniques used by the nuns of the College. By visiting the Museum of the College of Mary, you will have an immersive experience that will allow you to discover the cultural identity of Piana degli Albanesi. ​ This museum was conceived and established thanks to the enlightened vision of Sister Maria Pia Caronna. Following the closure of the College's embroidery school, fearing that the embroidery techniques the women learned at the College might be lost, as unfortunately happened, she had the brilliant vision of creating a space to permanently preserve and display the rich Byzantine rite vestments created in this Collegio over the centuries.

Sister Maria Pia Caronna was also the driving force and guiding spirit of the school that was located in the Collegio di Maria and that trained the women and teachers of Piana, which was recently closed. The Collegio di Maria Museum was re-established in 2014 thanks to the Mother Superior of the College, Sister Maria Canicattì, who accepted the proposal for a new exhibition conceived and curated by Salvatore Vasotti with the valuable advice of a committee he himself created and chaired by Sister Maria Canicattì. The committee was composed of Archpriest Papas Giovanni Stassi (rector of the Sanctuary), Professor Rita Cedrini (head of the FAI Palermo delegation), Professor Maria Elena Volpes (Superintendent of Cultural Heritage of Palermo), historian Stefano Schirò, and Maestro Sergio Lucito.

Excerpt from the book by Prof. Stefano Schirò:

"The Sanctuary of Maria SS. Odigitria is joined by the Collegio di Maria, '...whose foundation, already decided upon in 1718... was carried out later, from 1731 onwards, through the effective work and burning zeal of Father Antonino Brancato...', as well as through the intervention of the illustrious Father Giorgio Guzzetta. Thanks to the zeal of Nicolina Carnesi, elected Superior of the College on August 26, 1896, '..important embroidery works are executed there in gold, silver, silk, white embroidery, Renaissance style, pittoresco, bobbin lace, trimmings, and lace...'. The Superior crafted with her own hands a refined 'epitafios'. This artifact; a glittering altar frontal in pure gold and silver with the Marian symbol at its center, surrounded by tendrils, thistle leaves, and almost as intricate as a millefleur tapestry; some sumptuous chasubles and other sacred vestments also embroidered in pure gold (exactly like the royal traditional women's dresses of Piana degli Albanesi); a sophisticated icon featuring the Kìmisis tis Theotòkou and other icons (including one by Ionnikios Ieromonaco depicting the Odigitria, which belongs to a cycle of icons found in the Church of San Nicola), bearing witness to the ineffable grace of Byzantine-style pictorial production; two extremely delicate Madonnas, one from the nineteenth century, though reminiscent of Raphaelesque poses and the clarity of Piero della Francesca. These works are precisely part of a permanent exhibition, conceived by the FAI of Piana and Santa Cristina, set up in one of the rooms of the College. This exhibition is rightfully called 'Ricami divini' (Divine Embroideries) because, after passing before these works with a mystical spirit, one remains dazzled by the light of the 'sacred embroideries' (Maria Accascina), 'A kind of soothing harmony and widespread refreshment falls upon us. The nepenthe of Helen of Amyclae did not pour a purer joy into the hearts of men.'

Stefano Schirò

TIMETABLES:

It can be visited only with a private visit and by reservation . The visit of the Museum of the College includes the visit of the Sanctuary of M. SS. Odigitria.

You can visit the Museum and the Sanctuary by booking one of the experiences below.

For more information about this site, tours, and initiatives, click here and fill out the form.

OPENING HOURS Collegio di Maria Museum:

 

Visitable only with private tour and by reservation . The visit to the Collegio Museum includes the visit to the Sanctuary of M. SS. Odigitria.

You can visit the Museum and the Sanctuary by booking one of the experiences below.

 

For more information about this site, tours, and initiatives, click here and fill out the form.

bottom of page